Uncategorized

New Journey: Data Science

Career transition? Bored? Need a challenge? All of those I answer YES to. I am coming out of the end of a quarter life crisis and feeling like an almost brand new woman. From a serious bout of inner turmoil arose the need for change. I had a revelation, of which I will share later, that totally changed my outlook on life.

Here I am headed into a new phase of my life just as my roaring 20s are ending: DATA SCIENCE. I want to be a Data Scientist. Why? And what exactly is a data scientist?

WHy? — I was trying so very hard to write a book that I got so head in I forgot to look up. I was forcing myself to view myself as a writer just because the cool blogger kids were doing it. Sure I loved to write and yes, I believe I am quite skilled at it but forcing something that doesnt fit or trying to force something before its time does no good to anyone. I am learning to take several chill pills instead. Wrought from my fanciful, dreamy writer life, I was snapped back into reality with the hard press need for money to keep my household afloat. Once again, like a college adviser, I was sitting down evaluating my talents, skills, passion and abilities again, typing up yet another resume when it dawned on me. I pigeonholed myself into this admin/clerical and writer/editor role. No one else did that but me It would then be completely up to me to change this. It would be completely up to me to change the course and direction of my life.

Hanging up my turtle neck and setting down my wire-rimmed writer’s glasses, I rediscovered my absolute love of math when I was bored in the midst of a writing session and decided that I wanted to have some fun by looking up complex calculus problems to solve. I found that I had a penchant for doing that these days. I do it at the grocery store, I like to calculate the mark up or the rate of change. Sometimes, I secretly plotted derivative graphs with the tiles on the ceiling. I would make up graphs in my head. Blah blah blah.

So where exactly did DATA SCIENTIST come up? While reading “The Power of Habit” by Charles DuHigg, I noticed that I really, really, really liked that book and it was because of the skillful use of data and research. I mean the stories were also rather cute but it was the compelling use of data that interested me. My wheels began to turn. The contents of the book had an even sharper effect on me which I think was due to the amount of data and statistics presented. I was hooked and only wondered how many more messages I could drive home by way of data, statistics and research. Thus, I chanced upon Data Science which is the retrieval, research, study, and analysis of data and statistics. And if you know anything about this 2017 world of ours, its that data is God.

This week, I have become fascinated with a Coursera course offered by Duke University on Data Science. I am revisiting my old friends calculus and statistics. I am rather excited and look forward to where this road may lead me.

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Journey: Data Science”

Leave a Reply

