Foul Mouth Fool

I didn’t say my first curse word until I was in my early twenties. Before then, I didnt even whisper them to myself. When I read curse words in books, I censored them in my head. Funny right? Don’t tell my Momma, but I tried sprinkling those words on my sentences here and there for an extra kick. Just adds a little spice.

For some, cursing isn’t classy. Especially for women. Cursing is a man’s language. “Well, I aint no James Brown so f*ck that man’s world.”

For others, cursing shows a lack of intelligence or inferiority. “Who the hell said that? B*tch, prove it”.

Cursing is a freedom. A liberation of language and expression. A luxury.

But what if we couldn’t curse? What if language was so limited that the English language only consisted of a few prescribed words? What if our dictionaries went from hundreds of pages to only 10? I’m reading George Orwell’s 1984 right now and that is exactly what is happening in the world of INGSOC and Newspeak. Big Brother is eliminating words from the English language. Literally removing words from the dictionary and print altogether. Why? Syme explains here:

” Don’t you see that the whole aim of Newspeak is to narrow the range of thought? In the end we shall make thoughtcrime literally impossible, because there will be no words in which to express it. Every concept that will ever be needed  ”

Maybe cursing seems trivial and unneccessary but it makes me appreciate the freedom to express myself.

Leave a Reply

